After thoughtful consideration–and a very dedicated night of negotiations with my decade-confused friends–I have made my predictions for the 83rd Academy Awards. It’s kind of sad because I’ve been talking about the Oscars since the beginning of my little movie resolution two months ago. I’ll have to find something else to obsess over. (Please turn your direction to the latest and longest movie list posted.)

Best Picture–THE KING’S SPEECH

Best Director–Joel and Ethan Coen, TRUE GRIT

Best Actor–Colin Firth, THE KING’S SPEECH

Best Actress–Natalie Portman, BLACK SWAN

Best Supporting Actor–Christian Bale, THE FIGHTER

Best Supporting Actress–Hailee Steinfeild, TRUE GRIT

Best Animated Feature Film–TOY STORY 3

Best Foreign Film–BUITIFUL

Best Original Screenplay–THE KING’S SPEECH

Best Adapted Screenplay–TRUE GRIT

Best Art Direction–ALICE IN WONDERLAND

Best Costume Design–THE TEMPEST

Best Original Song–“We Belong Together”, TOY STORY 3

Best Original Score–Hans Zimmer, INCEPTION

Best Documentarty–EXIT THROUGH THE GIFT SHOP

Best Film Editing–THE KING’S SPEECH

Best Cinematography–Danny Cohen, THE KING’S SPEECH

Best Makeup–THE WOLFMAN

Best Sound Editing–INCEPTION

Best Sound Mixing–INCEPTION

Best Visual Effects–INCEPTION

Best Documentary (Short)–KILLING IN THE NAME

Best Visual Short Film–DAY&NIGHT

Best Short Film–THE CONFESSION

So I lean towards THE KING’S SPEECH and INCEPTION. I beg excuse, however. This is an amateur’s bias selection, and those two films are my favorite of 2010. THE KING’S SPEECH may even be on my list of “favorite movies of all time.” Then again, I’m a sucker for movies set in Britain, especially those with Colin Firth. Shout out to Jo Bailey–you created a monster when you showed me the BBC version of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and served me tea.

Make sure you watch the Oscars–7:30 central time. I for one am going to put on a red-carpet-worthy dress and drink a bottle of champagne to celebrate my victories (or to help soften the blows of my losses).

Leave a Reply

