My first order of business when I got to my apartment was to set up my new HD TV (thank you Santa) and then start watching one of the best movies of the 20th century:  ALL ABOUT EVE. It was nominated for a staggering 14 Academy Awards, a feat not matched until TITANIC in 1997. What is most impressive about this Best Picture winner, a fact I just learned this afternoon, is that four–one, two, three, four–actresses where nominated for an Oscar for their role in this movie: Bette Davis and Anne Baxter for Best Leading Actress, and Celeste Holm and  Thelma Ritter for Best Supporting Actress. None of these leading ladies walked away with statue.

I can’t think of anything to say about this movie that hasn’t been said before. Bette David is a screen stealer, for sure, George Sanders has just the right voice for narrating, and I always appreciate Thelma Ritter. So, I leave you with Margo Channing’s famous words and bid all blog readers adieu as I greet friends not seen this year: “Fasten your seat belts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.”

One thought on “All About Eve (1950) is All About the Women

Leave a Reply

